Chasing…

“If we chased truth as intensely as we chase illusions, we would be free quickly.” — Alan Cohen

This quote resonated with me. How true is that statement?! I know for myself, I’ve spent a lifetime chasing the girl I’m supposed to be, or the girl I thought I was supposed to be. I’m supposed to be thin, I’m supposed to be financially well-off by now, I’m supposed to be much further along in life than I am at this point…

The chasing of the dreams and the expectations can have a draining effect on our psyches. I know I’m awfully tired chasing those “supposed to bes”…

I think it’s about time that I finally learn to be satisfied with where I am, what I am and who I am — to be satisfied with the truth of me. And maybe, just maybe, that will set me free…

free bird

Open Your Mind and Go                                                                                                             All Rights Reserved by l*aura** (Flickr Commons Photo Sharing)

What about you? Are you chasing truth or illusions?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Chasing…

  1. Love this, Michele – I have thought the exact same things about myself. Wishing I was thinner, further along, handling things better, etc… It’s the whole journey – struggling with all that, plus learning to accept and be grateful for where we are and who we are now. I think as long as we’re headed in the right direction, we’re doing okay! Great post! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. Thanks Lynn! And yeah, it’s so much less stressful when we just ACCEPT. I have a plaque of the serenity prayer and I saw it the other day, stood in front of it and absorbed it. It’s so powerful…If we’re able to follow it! It’s so simple too. Aging helps the acceptance part, that’s for sure! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  3. Great post, Michele. I’ve struggled with this issue forever. You’re right that aging helps – it had better, since we can’t back up this train! If I don’t make peace with my Self now, when will I ever? Bless you, dear one.

    Like

    • You’re right about that Lana! Ain’t no backin’ this baby up! :). Sometimes I think I’m the only one struggling with these things but I guess we all are, aren’t we? Good to have you stop by! Thanks!

      Like

  4. You put into words what most of us are thinking, Michele. I’m learning more and more to just go with the flow as I get older. STILL trying to lose weight though! 🙂

    Like

    • Going with the flow is the best way to do life, I’ve found. And I give up on trying to lose weight anymore. I just eat healthy and work out as I can and let God take care of the rest. This is, after all, how he made me. If he can be happy with me, then so can I, I guess, right?

      Like

  5. It’s hard to learn to be true to ourselves and to ignore the voices that we think are coming from others. But the “shoulds” are rarely our truest calling. Funny how it does take a while to learn that. Wishing you the best in regaining your energy and vision. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Deborah!i love that truth you spoke: “the shoulds are rarely our truest calling.” Amen to that! Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

