The Insane Amount of Work that Went into the Making of the Snickers Brady Bunch Super Bowl Commercial

Many of you know that I spent a good portion of my career in the advertising industry. So I was really intrigued when I saw this video on the making of the 30-second Snickers Brady Bunch commercial with Danny Trejo and Steve Buscemi that first aired in the (heartbreaking) Super Bowl last Sunday.

Watch this 3 minute video to get just a glimpse into the work that went into making that spot. It’s fascinating special effects wizardry:

 

Crazy, huh? So what did you think of this year’s Super Bowl commercials in general? What were your favorites? My two favorites were the Snickers Brady Bunch commercial and the Budweiser Lost Puppy commercial:

I also liked the Nissan ad “With Dad” — the one that had Harry Chapin’s Cats in the Cradle as the soundtrack:

The other commercial that I thought was absolutely outstanding comes from the Always “Like a Girl” campaign. It’s a brilliant campaign that can actually evoke change. And isn’t that what advertising is supposed to do?

Here’s an extended version of the ad:

 

So what were your favorite commercials? What commercials do you remember right now, since it’s been almost a week since Super Bowl? Please share in the Comments section.

 

13 thoughts on “The Insane Amount of Work that Went into the Making of the Snickers Brady Bunch Super Bowl Commercial

  1. By the way you kind of hurled an insult regarding the “With Dad”. You attributed the beautifully poignant song “Cat’s in the Cradle” to the insidiously obnoxious former Cat Stevens when it was actually a song by the wonderfully talented late Harry Chapin–one of my favorite artists.

    Just thought I should correct you on that error.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    • Of course it was Harry Chapin!!! What was I thinking??? Cat Stevens, Cats in the cradle, cats on my head, cats got my tongue, I don’t know where I am. I’m in A-Z fog, just finishing up with the letter Y. Thank YOU so much Lee for pointing that out. I didn’t do a good job of proofing that one, that’s for sure. All fixed now. Thanks for saving me some embarrrrrasment! 🙂

      Like

      • PS: Harry Chapin is in my H post for the A-Z and Yes, I have him there doing Cats in the Cradle so I do KNOW that he did that song…I’m just plain brain dead tonight. My head says “Keep going, you can finish letter Z tonight!” but my ass is saying, “Ouch, I’m tired of sitting here in front of this computer all day!” I think it’s obvious that I take a break… Till tomorrow. 🙂

        Like

      • Actually you made me go Google it just to make sure Cat Stevens never did a cover of that song and I found a site where they said this is among the most common song attribution errors so you are not alone.

        Arlee Bird
        A to Z Challenge Co-host
        Tossing It Out

        Like

      • hmm, that’s interesting. Well Cat Stevens has that song Father and Son, and Cats in the Cradle is all about a father/son relationship. I bet that’s why there is so many erroneous attributions. With me tonight though had nothing to do with the two songs. I think it all had to do with the word Cat…

        Like

  2. The making of the Snickers commercial was wild! I can’t believe how much work went into it and I think they did such a fabulous job. I wasn’t thrilled with the commercials overall this year. Yes, some stand-out ones like you mentioned but they seemed to pale from past years. This year they seemed more thought-provoking. And did you notice that it seemed almost all of the commercials used the same font size and style when there was text on the screen?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. I didn’t watch the Super Bowl, but those first three commercials have received airplay here. All great! 😀 Fascinating look into the making of the Snickers one. That was incredibly clever. Harry Chapin’s song conjures up instant emotions in the Nissan commercial. The Always one was new to me and I think it sends an excellent, timely message. Seemed overly long for a commercial though.

    Like

    • Hey Debbie. The Always ad that I posted was an extended version; the ad that ran in the Super Bowl was shorter: I think it was a minute. The extended version that I posted was a little over 3 minutes long. I posted that one because it showed more of what went into the spot. I like where the boy realizes that he also insulted his sister. It’s such a great message and long overdue! The Nissan ad that I posted was the exact one that went into the Super Bowl and it is 3x the length of a standard 30-second commercial. THAT was one very pricey commercial!! So happy to have you stop by! Many thanks for the retweet too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

