Notable Quotable: Timing

The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now. –Chinese Proverb

Have you ever felt yourself regretting those things that you didn’t do years ago when the opportunities presented themselves? We all do. There are always regrets. The “should’ve, could’ve, would’ve’s”. But with most things, it’s never too late.

It’s never too late to pursue a dream. Where there’s a will, there’s a way. I’m a firm believer in that and I think the oft heard saying goes splendidly with the Chinese proverb above.

As with many Chinese proverbs, this one is powerful.

How do you feel about this proverb? What have you regretted not doing that you could still do now? And will you?

12 thoughts on “Notable Quotable: Timing

  1. I think I’ve said this here before but I try to avoid regret as what I’ve done in my past brought me to where I am today. Sure if I had finished my college education back when I was initially pursing it I might be better off financially than I am now, but then I would have missed what I’ve had in my life.

    The proverb is understandably true and I don’t sense regret in it. It’s more like a never too late sort of way of thinking. I would prefer to reflect rather than regret and keep my mind on the present and my vision on what potential lies ahead.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Most of my regrets have to do with not doing certain things at specific times, so there’s nothing I can do about those, except put them behind me and move on. I can definitely relate to this proverb, though, as I picked up writing again after a 30-year absence. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Regrets should only serve as a jumping point to move on. I’m glad you can relate to the proverb: that’s so cool that you’re writing again after 30 years. I’m still struggling with my writing…
      Thanks for stopping by. Sorry it has taken me so long to get to these comments! Busy on the homefront…

      Like

  3. Hi, Michele!

    As Debbie the Doglady and Steppenwolf remind us: “It’s never too late to start all over again.” That song has always been one of my favorites. As I have explained in other comments, I regret the fact that I did too much partying at college and not enough studying. Somehow I landed jobs as a writer and news reporter without the breadth of knowledge that I should have obtained to prepare for those positions of responsibility. I am enjoying the process of becoming self educated in the 21st century and I continue to strive to become a better writer and effective communicator.

    It’s never too late to start all over again.

    (I hope your mom and dad are both doing well this week, dear friend!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s a beautiful thing to be able to be self-educated and we live in a time when that is so much easier than in the past.

      Don’t ever regret partying too hard! 🙂 I partied a lot in high school and college but still managed to get good grades. Don’t know how I did that! But even back then, I had my priorities straight. I just couldn’t pass up those 10-cent drafts during the middle of the day though! 🙂 And Economics class seemed to pale in comparison…

      Thanks for stopping by. Sorry it has taken me so long to get to responding to these comments…

      Like

  4. It’s actually funny that you posted this. I was just talking-to my husband about regrets and he said the same thing–it’s never too late. The other thing is, how I’ve found myself immersed in doing photography–something that I’ve always had an interest in but never pursued. So, I’m thrilled to have no regrets on that old love/new hobby. Great post and questions ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Renata! Good to see you here! I love photography and so glad to hear that you have rediscovered it. For some things I think it is too late…at least in my own life, but for most things it’s not.
      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s never too late and I believe in this. jam not one for regrets though because it was meant to be. I still want to walk more than I do and lose some weight. I want to travel more and I will. life is too short for regrets but never too short to realize your dreams

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great comment: life is definitely too short for regrets. We can spend our time regretting (and not getting anywhere) or we can continue to chase those dreams. Even if we never catch them, the time spent is so worthwhile…
      Thanks for stopping by Birgit!

      Like

    • Lol! That’s so true: so many things that we once regretted that we’d find ourselves having no interest in today. I’m too old to do half the things I regret! 🙂
      Thanks so much for stopping by. Sorry it took me so long to get back to these comments: I’ve been caring for my mom and she had a set-back. But she’s better now…

      Like

Leave a Reply

