Battle of the Bands RESULTS: Woodstock

battle-of-the-bands-botb-top-photo

Hey guys, sorry this results post is late. I was road-tripping from Wilmington, N Carolina to Austin, Texas. Long drive!! Anyway, I’m home now and ready to get back to business.

The results are in for the Woodstock battle. It was neck and neck for most of the voting but in the end Eva Cassidy pulled it out with 60% of the vote. Here’s how it broke down:

Eva Cassidy: 9 votes (including mine).

Joni Mitchell: 6 votes

I just thought Eva’s voice was so much smoother than Joni’s and I enjoyed her version more.

So that’s it from this end. Now I’m going to relax and just lay around for the rest of the day. I’m exhausted from driving and riding for two days!

See you on the 15th for the next battle…

10 thoughts on “Battle of the Bands RESULTS: Woodstock

  1. Seems like Joni’s screechy weird intonations didn’t sit well with the majority. It was pretty close though. And don’t get me wrong. I think Joni Mitchell is a fine songwriter and singer, but sometimes her vocals seem a bit odd. Guess I’m just seeing if I can ruffle anyone’s feathers.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Michele!

    It’s good to know you are safely off the road. I hope you didn’t encounter any nasty weather along the way. I also hope your parents enjoy their stay with you in Austin.

    Your ears matched mine in this band battle. That always pleases me. I need to emphasize that I admire Joni Mitchell and appreciated her rendition and the back story you presented about how and why the song was written.

    Thank you, dear friend. Get some rest and pet your dogs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Shady. Good to hear from you. The trip was essentially uneventful except for some rain that lasted for hours! And then, in the rain and the dark, we pulled off in Birmingham Alabama to get a room. But all the hotels were sold out. Because of the Alabama/LSU football game. So off we went to the next town, Tuscaloosa. No luck there either. The next big town was Meridian Mississippi and we were about an hour away. Driving in the rain and dark didn’t thrill me but what were we going to do? So we trekked along and finally saw a sign for lodging and decided to get off and try. The first hotel was sold out, but the second one had a room for us, at an inflated price of course. That too because of the football game. I think that’s outrageous that the hotels take advantage of people by increasing the rates because of the demand. That’s capitalism for ya though…. Still, I think it’s quite unfair. So other than some awful stop and go traffic from Waco to well past Killeen, the trip went well. Thanks for your well wishes!

      talk soon!

      Like

  3. Hi again, Michele! Your blog won’t let me “reply” so I needed to start with a new comment box. I can imagine how weary you guys became looking for lodging in the dark and rain. (I’m glad you didn’t wind up at Bates Motel. 🙂 Yessum, football is king at this time of year and the prices of everything related to it go up accordingly. I am very happy to know you are home and relaxing with parents and dogs.

    Like

    • Thanks Shady! We didn’t end up at Bates Motel but Lord, was that hotel gross! It was filthy. At least the sheets smelled clean though so that was refreshing… 🙂 We had to take what we could get…
      I can’t sleep now so I’m up catching up on Homeland. Do you watch that show? Fabulous! It’s nice to be curled up on the couch with my doggies! Glad to be home. “See” you soon… XOXO

      Like

Leave a Reply

