Notable Quotables: the Inaugural Post

Today is the inaugural post in my Notable Quotables feature. Every Wednesday I will be posting a quote that speaks to me. Sometimes I’ll just post the quote and other times I’ll write about how and why it resonates with me. I hope you’ll look forward to this series every week and find something of value to take away.

Here is the first quote:

“Sometimes when things are falling apart, they may actually be falling into place.”  -unknown source

 

You’ve been there. We all have. Everything around you seems to be crumbling. Physical sensations accompany a mounting panic that you’re losing control. Every fiber of your being wants to run…to a safe haven, to calmer waters, to a hideaway where you can wait out the storm. Sometimes you just want to stay in bed and pull the covers over your head and escape into a dreamless sleep.

I’ve certainly felt that way. But I recently heard the above quote and it actually made a whole lot of sense. Because don’t you always come out of a crisis a better person, a wiser person? There are valuable life lessons tucked into the treacherous journeys and it is our soul’s mission to discover them.

approaching storm

I’ve had a forboding feeling lately. I can’t explain it, I just feel fearful that a storm is heading my way. My first instinct is to look for a way to avoid it, for safety. But I might as well buckle up and hold on because I’ve already experienced that quote as a truth: although everything seemed to be falling apart, my God had a plan for me and going through that particular storm was a necessary part of that plan. And I’m still standing. Life is good. Better even.

Whatever the brewing storm brings, I’ll be grateful for it. I say this now but please remind me of that because I may be blinded by the whirling debris of chaos. Hopefully I can navigate the storm with strength and believe that everything in my life is simply falling into place.

“Sometimes when things are falling apart, they may actually be falling into place.”

approaching storm2

 

Does this quote speak to you? Do you believe it? Your thoughts?

 

12 thoughts on “Notable Quotables: the Inaugural Post

  1. This is a good optimistic outlook. While I like a change of scenery now and then and don’t like always having everything the same all the time, I’m not thrilled when the status quo regarding my situation changes. I guess I always have a fear that things might not work out. In the past they always have and I shouldn’t worry so much. Right now in my life I’m in that waiting for all the pieces to come together again situation.

    In essence as long as I can adapt to whatever the world throws my way then I should come out okay. That’s what I’ve always done in the past.

    This is a good theme that can provide an opportunity for thought and discussion.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    • Thanks Lee! I hope it does elicit some dialogue and hopefully it will be a well-received feature that will keep people coming back.
      I know how you feel. Knowing that things have always worked out in the past is great for helping you not to worry about the future. I used this quote a few weeks ago with my mom: she’s a chronic worrier and always worried about the What Ifs, worrying about things that haven’t even happened (and probably won’t happen). It’s not good for her health or her peace of mind. I know it’s hard sometimes to put blind faith in the unknown, but like you said: most people should be able to look back and go “Oh yeah, everything DID work out after all.”
      I may have to print this quote out and post it on my mirror so I don’t lose sight of it…because I can get lost in the worrying too…
      Thanks for being the first to comment in my new series! XOXO

      Like

  2. I like this Michele, This says it all, If we never went through the storm none of us would be where we are today. We learn a valable lesson and it makes us a much better person. As you said it is a blind faith that we put our trust in. But i have learned over the years that God never brings us to the problem without getting us through it, but this is where the faith and trust comes in, he wants us to come to him and lay our burdens and problems on him and if we do this he will carry us through any thing. You said about your Mom worrying about things that never even happen.. It runs in the family my Dad God Bless him, was like that and I remember saying to him well did this ever happen Dad and he would smile and say no, then I said what was the use of worrying about it.. But I know it is hard to not worry, we all are only human and God made us so he knows us better then we know ourselves..Good stories and quotes. Thanks for sharing your stories Michele Love you..

    Like

    • Hey Mattie, Thanks for stopping by. Were your ears ringing yesterday?? Mom and I were just talking about you. Wondering how you’re doing. I’ll shoot you an email. Mom said she was going to call you but she’s been so busy these last few days. I told her it seems like she’s 40 again, she’s doing so much. She said well unfortunately she feels like she’s 90. 🙂
      Thanks for your comment about my post. And you’re so right: God doesn’t give us more than we can handle. Even though it doesn’t always seem that way at the time… Blind Faith: we have to have it! Love you too. Hoping you are healing up good and feeling much better!

      Like

  3. What a wonderful idea for a weekly series. I love quotes. This one speaks to me too! I have recently lost the love of my life, my dear husband Richard, so I am waiting for things to fall into place. I think the storm is over.

    Like

    • Oh thanks Paula! I’m so sorry for your loss. That has to be really hard. Hopefully you can still feel his spirit with you. That bond of love that you shared can never be broken, not even in death. Things are falling into place without you even realizing it yet, right? Sending you a hug as you adjust to your new normal…

      Like

  4. This is a brilliant idea for a weekly series! Bound to get many comments on this one, Michele. 🙂
    That’s a great quote, along the same lines as “Things are always darkest before the dawn”. We’ve all had to weather various storms in life and as someone else said – that’s what makes us who we are. One of my favourite expressions holds true here, as well. “Whatever doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger”. Here’s hoping whatever chaos is headed your way will be kept to a minimum.

    Like

  5. I like quotes too, this should be a fun series. I don’t know whether or not I feel like it’s true. I do think sometimes things have to go downhill so we understand when they go uphill again.

    Like

  6. Michele, you are Mrs Innovation with your blog. I like this idea a lot. I also like the quote a lot. It actually feels quite fitting for my own situation at the moment. As you know we are about to leave Greece to return to the UK so I hope there will be a lot of things falling into place when we do. I look forward to next week, Mark.

    Like

    • Hey Mark, thanks for your comment! When are you guys leaving Greece? I’m sure it’s going to be hard leaving such a beautiful place…and leaving the olive grove has to be tough. But like the quote says: it’s all happening because there is a divine plan in action that we really have no idea about, we just have to have faith that it’s all for the good. Let me know when you guys will be setting sail so I can think lots of positive thoughts for you. See you next week. Glad you’ll be coming back for my series! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

